It appears that your browser does not support JavaScript, or you have it disabled. This site is best viewed with JavaScript enabled. If JavaScript or cookies are disabled in your browser, please enable them and then reload this page.
Skip to main content
Help

Product Detail

Cover Image For We Remain Traditional by Sylvia Chan

We Remain Traditional by Sylvia Chan

"In We Remain Traditional, Sylvia Chan juxtaposes the elegy, the conflict, and the brashness of a relationship that summons wild musicality in its love and frustration. Through the speaker and Adam, the beloveds offer thirty-two consolations for the gendered history of Chinese American women--a break and affirmation of their traditions. What saves these two characters is their music--a peace treaty for the book's form or 'fractured paradise,' a language that protects and protests their bodies in Oakland, California. Marked by vulnerability and intimacy, Chan interrogates a young woman's childhood sexual abuse. In the vein of Stacy Doris and Paul Celan, Chan asks: because she is a child of violent tradition, what is her visceral grief? This is a speaker who aspires to create universal experiences for her listeners, to transform jazz into narrative. This is a wild, beautiful, and ambitious first book: Chan refuses to apologize for the terror in her conviction and compassion. To choose a man who is behind her sexual, psychological, and political exploitation is to forgive his narcissism, aggression, and addiction. To love, simply, is to live unafraid of pushing boundaries and of being happy"--Provided by publisher.

Item: 188563559

Price: $16.95

QTY:
Add To Cart

This item has been added to your Cart.

Privacy and Disclaimer
I.1.A